Is that Nirvana in my Clannad?

I’m guessing he’s not happy to see me again.

chigaimasu-48.jpgIn an attempt to revive my blogging career, while juggling classes and trying to find a job, I will be trying to just poke quick quips based on things I’ve watched. Here’s the first installment.

With the advent of the Fall Season, all eyes were focused on the first episode of Clannad: After Story, at least until ef: a tale of melodies hits the airwaves. I, personally, was focused on finishing Yakushiji Ryoko no Kaiki Jikenbo (Ryoko’s Case File) first before getting to it, and now that it’s out of the way, I put the 20 mins down and took a look.

Let me just say, broham (koneko) and I are looking forward to more Kyou.

It’s everything you expected from a KyoAni work, and everything a Clannad fan wanted to get out of a first episode. My immediate thought at the end of the episode was, “They didn’t make it explicit the type of hit Tomoya got at the end of the game, just that it was a game winner.” I suppose you could assume from the arc and the relative height in comparison to the power lines that it was a home run, but I don’t think that’s right. Why? Because Tomoya hasn’t been the kind of person to succeed flashily. He’s clutch, but he’s not a big-show type clutch. He’s that “very dependable type” player. From what the first season presented, I’d be more inclined to believe it was a shot to right-center, which could easily score two.

Anyway, that’s not what I wanted to write about. What I am more focused on is time stamp 10:26:

In my head, I get the feeling Kurt Cobain’s rolling over in his grave.

I thought it was funny. Again indicative of the interplay of Japan and Western cultures. Just so you don’t think it was a joke written in by SS-Eclipse, I can translate the Katakana (Verify this for me, readers with a knowledge of Katakana): Sumeru Raiku Tiin Supirittsu. Being a 21 year old, and only slightly after the Nirvana era. I took relish in the homage. Thoughts?

One Response to Is that Nirvana in my Clannad?

  1. Zero-Unknown says:

    lol smells like teen spirit eh? who would name their baseball team with such long words!

Leave a comment