Chigau’s “On Tap” For Winter 2008.

chigaimasu-48.jpgHappy new year, blogonauts. Along with the new year, let’s celebrate the new television season! Hooray! I’m going to guess that no one was as stoked as I was that they brought back American Gladiators. Winter 2008 is going to be awesome.

Fall 2007 Carryovers:

Ok. All kidding aside now. Let’s talk anime. With the new season comes new anime, but first, let me see what I have carrying over from Fall ’07:

Dragonaut: The Resonance – Seriously, I thought this was going to end in one season. Looks like my review will have to wait for now. Not big on it right now, we’ll see if it can get turned around, or if it’ll confirm my beliefs. I will sit this through for as long as I can, just for the review.

kazuki_400.jpg

Seriously, you’re so annoying. The quicker they get rid of you, Kazuki, the better I’ll feel about Dragonaut in general.


CLANNAD – Saw Episode 13, and it gets interesting again. Not to say it wasn’t interesting before. KyotoAni just has that way of laying low for a couple of episodes before hitting you with more story. The Fuuko still has me in tears. I’m really enjoying CLANNAD and we’ll see how they deal with the other story arcs.

Winter 2008

As you can tell, I don’t have a lot on my plate from 2007. To make up for it, I’m taking on a heavy load of new Winter ’08 stuff. Without further delay…

H2O ~Footprints in the Sand~ (Through 2) – I’m not sure how to feel about this one so far. There looks to be potential, but the story is unpolished at some parts. We’ll see how it plays out so far. If it cleans up a bit, it’ll be really good.

Hatenkou Yuugi (Through 2) – A very interesting piece. Right now it just seems like a collection of short stories, but if it comes to a head at some point, I wonder how good it can become. The three main characters and their development will be the telling tale for this one.

Spice and Wolf (Through 2) – So far the best from what I’ve seen so far this season. I’m still waiting to hear Lawrence go “Watashi wa… Zero!”, but middle ages viewpoint is something I haven’t seen in a while. Whether or not this will be satirical or informational of the age remains to be seen. With BG music that reminds me of Final Fantasy IX, and the combination of the elegant OP with the playful ED, can’t say I’m not content.

Shigofumi (Through 1) – Not going to lie. For this one, I was on AnimeSuki and thought, “hey, this is getting a lot of DLs, maybe I’ll check it out.” Glad I did. Definitely going to be checking this out for a little while longer.

Zoku Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei (Through 1) – One of the things I did this winter break (along with kill off Genshiken, Genshiken OAV, Kujiun OAV, and Genshiken 2) is go through Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei. I thought it was going to be interesting. But it lacked direction and pretty much felt, to me, like a 12 episode character introduction. Seeing that they’ve gotten that out of the way in one episode, maybe Zoku will have more to offer.

zetsubousensei_400.jpg

Going through the first season of Zetsubou Sensei left me in despair. I’m not saying it wasn’t funny, but it was too random to be considered good storytelling. I’m hoping for better things out of Zoku.

Minami-ke: Okawari (Through 0) – With the way Minami-ke went (check out our review), there’s no way we’d miss Okawari. Still, with only my basic knowledge of Japanese (I’m working on it), I can’t make out the RAWs, so hopefully a fansub group will help with that.

Mnemosyne (Through 0) – Apparently pronounced nee-MAH-sin-ee, not much to say about this one except the trailer caught my eye. Mature rating and all, but hey, we’re all adults here, right? Anyway, waiting until February for it to start.

True Tears (Through 0) – I’m being told by broham (koneko) that this is one will be worth the watch. Will probably get two episodes in sometime in the next couple of days, and we’ll see if I stay around to keep watching it. I’m worried that my plate’s a little full already though.

Anyway, That’s the gameplan for Winter 2008. While juggling this and college (+ tutoring, lab, extracurriculars) keep checking in for articles related to a potential mid-season recap, or other fun things that may cross my mind.

-chigaimasu

Leave a Reply

