Random Thoughts – Soundtracks, Moe Bubbles, English Dub, Tears and Blushing

whitehatazn-48.jpgI don’t have any major thing I want to talk about. I just have alot of little thoughts and opinions that have come to my head. And here they are…

booklet-01.jpg

ef – a tale of memories Original Soundtrack ~espressivo~

I got a chance to listen to it this week and it’s really good. I knew at the end of the show that I really wanted to get this one. And it definitely hasn’t disappointed. Although, this is not all of it (the second OST comes out in April). I’m actually planning to use a few of these songs when I re-master my parents’ wedding Betamax tape (yes… i said Betamax) to DVD.

puchi_puchi_moe.png

Bandai, Rie Kugimiya and Obsessive-compulsive Moe Lover

After reading about this ANN article on Bandai’s new ∞ Puti Puti Petit Moe line of bubble-wrap-popping keychains, I was actually quite disturbed that people would actually buy this. I’ve seen my fair share of crazy, weird and/or messed-up items from Japan. This one ranks up there as one of the messed-up items I’ve seen. Which one would I buy? Hm… It’s just a matter of which line do I want to be rewarded with after two minutes or so of mindless touching (yes… mindless touching… it does sound that dirty). Considering that I have a younger sister, getting the imouto one will be a bit too creepy. Considering that I had a female childhood friend, the osananajimi version will be too depressing. I like tsunderes but I’ve heard my fair share of Rie Kugimiya tsundere voices and I kinda don’t want to hear another girl randomly yelling at me. Which leaves me with the maid version… where can I get myself one of these?

shuffle01.jpg

Shuffle! R1 DVD English Dub

Funimation has the first two episodes of Shuffle! on their website to view using their flash player. So I had the chance this weekend to listen to the English dub and I have to say, it’s actually quite respectable. Kaede’s voice actress is probably the only questionable one but is still alright. Asa’s English voice is just as fun and sexy as the Miki Itou Japanese version. Shuffle! is one of my favorite series and I constantly prop the Kaede and Asa flags. My concern is Funimation’s attempt to market this as another fun harem show, especially when it gets to the later episodes. But you’ll definitely see me buying this per volume as it comes out.

truetears01.jpg

True Tears Episode 5 and 6

Interestingly, I commented on Kurogane’s well-discussed Defense of Hiromi post a while ago without having seen the fifth episode. Now that I’ve seen episode five and six, I must say, this show is truly something. The production values and the mood of the show are just too good. I, myself, am a bit of a Hiromi fan. However, the show executes so well that you’ll miss out on the show if you polarize yourself and take sides. I’m just gonna sit back and enjoy this.

clannad-04.jpg

CLANNAD Episode 17

I loved this episode. I am a tsundere fanboy and to see Kyou squirming her deredere-ness while locked in the PE storeroom was just priceless. The episode as a whole was another solid episode. I’m beginning to see why Tomoyo receives plenty of fanboy love. And my god, enough of the Fuko already. Anyway, I still really like this show and while the pace has picked up a bit with simultaneous plot arcs going, the show is still running pretty strong. Then again, with sporty three-raining basketball Kyou and blushing confused deredere Kyou, she (with a little bit of Tomoyo) is making me an unwavering CLANNAD fanboy. Kyou for Saimoe 2008!

4 Responses to Random Thoughts – Soundtracks, Moe Bubbles, English Dub, Tears and Blushing

  1. Ollie Pitts says:

    This article is actually the greatest on this important topic. I absolutely feel the same way with your points of view and will eagerly look forward to your future updates. Saying thanks will not just be enough, for the phenomenal clarity in your writing. I will instantly grab your rss feed to stay up to date of any updates. Admirable work and best of luck in your life!

  2. Heyy, Found your blog on Google and I will definatley be recommending and coming back to the site! =)

  3. lol quite a few of the responses many people post are kinda silly, every so often i ask myself if they realistically read the article and reports before writing a comment or whether they simply just skim the title of the post and prepare only the first thought that pops into their heads. in any case, it is actually relaxing to browse through intelligent commentary now and then compared to the same exact, traditional oppinion vomit that i often see on the internet i’m off to take up a few rounds of zynga poker goodbye

  4. I’ve been searching in google for some home and garden ideas and fortuitously found this animeacademy.wordpress.com site.
    I have to say that it’s a wonderful blog! I love how detailed each of the entries are. They are well balanced, both informational and funny, and the pictures are cool too.

Leave a Reply

