The week in anime (March 5-11, 2008): Hints of “White”

chigaimasu-48.jpgSalutations, blogonauts. Time for me to come out of the woodworks and write something. Primarily because, hell, bro-ham (koneko) is giving me hell about it. Anyway, this is going to be the first of (hopefully) a weekly segment for me regarding a recap of the anime that I had time to see during the week. We’ll see how it turns out with college work occupying time and my frantic search to find an internship. Anyway, let’s get started.


March 5-11, 2008:

If you’re reading this blog, you probably know what’s coming up this friday. No, I do not mean Pi Day (even though as a mathematics major it’s worth celebrating), and I definitely do not mean the day before the Ides of March, you Shakespeare fans. That should narrow it down for you. If not, here are some more hints.

H2O -Footprints in the Sand-, Episode 10: One week after Hirose and Kohinata officially became a “hot ticket”, oh how quickly things fell apart. It’s somewhat amazing to see how one line ripped down everything that the two of them had established over the entire series. But I guess that was to be expected: they are kids afterall. But with the rift that has come between the two of them, how is Takuma going to set things right? Maybe a gift, or a renewed confession?

Spice and Wolf, Episode 10: Tough times have fallen on Lawrence again, re-affirming my notion that he is an inept merchant. Now even my basic knowledge of economics tells me he’s not completely to blame, especially because this is a system where knowlege of global prices are difficult, but show some kind of knowledgability by asking around about prices first. But poor Horo. The end of that episode was pretty rough for her. Lawrence definitely screwed up. All of the signs appear to indicate that Lawrence will make his feelings about Horo known very soon, but with this Friday coming up, wouldn’t it make more sense if it happens in episode 11?

SandW

What did you do to my Horo, Lawrence?!? Oh I see, you’re setting her up to drop the love bomb next week. Or.. at least, it comes off that way.

True Tears, episode 10: It’s understandable that they make their reference this week since their next episode comes after Friday. The last 3 mins of the episode is pretty indicative of the week. Hiromi leaves Shin, but Shin doesn’t give up on the play. One insert song and bike/running montage later, can we finally officially say that Shin x Hiromi is locked in? (If that’s the case, then Noe got jobbbbbbbbeeeeddd.) That had cheesy romance written all over it, and short of chocolate, it pretty much encompassed the essence of March 14.

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, (or, gentlemen and gentlemen, depending on our demographic. Is there any way to check that?) White Day is approaching, and last week’s anime seemed to be a setup for, or a reference to, the celebration incoming. Now I’m a fan of holiday episodes as much as the next person, but White Day? In all honesty, it’s as if every other time I walked into a store on the week before my mother’s birthday, a Hallmark card slapped me in the face and said, “Buy me!”. Now sure, that would get me to say how much I love my dear mother easily, but I think it takes away from the novelty of the event. It’s a good thing I watch fansubs: if I had seen commercials for the week, and an advertisement for chocolate popped up, I probably would have flipped. I’m not trying to say that White Day is insignificant, far from it. Please don’t let it flood my anime. Guys, if you have a relationship, you shouldn’t need a reminder. If you’re single, like me, then it’s just going to make you feel more lonely. Maybe it’s just the anime I saw this week, but I also caught Shigofumi 9, and if the Chiaki story didn’t scream White Day, I don’t know what does. Of course that means that next week will probably be more of the same from these anime, so I guess I’ll be writing about who did White Day the best. Catch you guys then.

White Chocolate

Since Bro-ham and I will be out on Friday, from the gentlemen of Anime Academy to our female readers, have a happy White Day.

8 Responses to The week in anime (March 5-11, 2008): Hints of “White”

  1. IcyStorm says:

    No girl gave me chocolate… so… =(

    Well I don’t live in Japan, Taiwan, or S. Korea anyway =P

  2. Thanks for your post and that pic of white chocolate has me feeling hungry, i could just go something like that. 🙂

    http://www.cosplaytoday.com/forum/

  3. Jack3d says:

    Hey, I just found your blog – thank you for the good work. I wanted to inform you that it’s not showing up properly on the BlackBerry Browser (I have a Pearl). Either way, I am now on your RSS feed on my laptop, so thanks again!

  4. White Day should get started in the U.S.

  5. Confucius~ A man who does not plan long ahead will find trouble right at his door.

  6. web hosting says:

    Lois McMaster Bujold~ An honor is not diminished for being shared.

  7. Very excellent publish, thanks a good deal for sharing. Do you happen to have an RSS feed I can subscribe to?

  8. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this article and also the rest of the website is also very good.

Leave a Reply

