Narutards going too far.

sandbox1.jpg

Who would’ve thought that this was one deadly weapon?

tsukagi-48.jpgAs I was trying to waste time over the weekend, I happened to pass across a news clip on youtube. It was about a 10 year old dying from being buried in a sandbox. My first thought that came to mind was, “How did this happen?” Well, I watched the clip and I was stunned. The friends of the 10 year old ended up burying him because they were pretending to be Gaara from Naruto. The friends didn’t know the child was suffocating until they finally dug him out. The child was hospitalized for 2 days but ended up dying on Monday March 10, 2008. Here’s the news clip if you want to watch it.

As I sympathize for the family who lost the child, I also begin to despise narutards. I have to agree with the comments in youtube that the 10 year old should’ve already known that he was being buried but the friends should’ve known they were hurting their friend. I won’t penalize the children for playing Naruto. They’re young and they are allowed to let their imagination run wild sometimes, but to bury someone in a sandbox is a bit… going too far. I don’t categorize all narutards like this but you are free to flame me if you wish. Well, all I can do now is just pray for the welfare of the family and friends.

7 Responses to Narutards going too far.

  1. lolikitsune says:

    >>but to bury someone in a sandbox is a bit… going too far.

    Just a bit 😉

  2. Surely society can’t just ignore this problem by burying its collective head in the sand? Something Must Be Done!

  3. V3N@R!S says:

    Konichi wa :o)

    First of all, what a story…:o( Well, kids always idealize the heroes they encounter and want to be like them. This was the same for our parents I suppose, with Superman, for us with Dragon Ball Z, or this generation with Naruto, Bleach, Pokemon, etc. I don’t think that has something to do with Otakuism (or why do you use the word “Narutard”).
    They are just kids, who, per definition, don’t think it true, before they take an action.

    Then, I’m gonna continue with an apologie…;o) The rest of my post won’t be a comment to your post, but rather a search for help. I could not find an email address on the site, with which I could have gotten in touch with you, so I said to myself, why not try it this way…;o) Sorry, won’t happen again! :o)

    My name is Dirk, I live in Brussels, Europe, and I am doing a research to get my degree in psychological studies. I am in my last year at the “Université Libre de Bruxelles” ( U.L.B.). My research is about the look we people bring upon Japanese animation, depending on the culture we live in.

    To be able to do this study, I will need the help of people and anime sites out of Europe, so I can compare these populations. I am asking you here if it would be possible for me to add a link on your site, where people will be linked to a site (in English) were they will see an extract of a Japanese animation, and then they will be asked to respond to a questionnaire. Do you think this could be possible? If “yes”, how should this link look like (for instance, what size should it have?)

    I already got like 140 European responses, but only like 8 Asian ones, which is close, but not quiet enough for a research…;o) I hope you can help me to improve this :o)

    If you want to have a look at the website, the address is : http://www.toba.lu/memoire

    Thank you in advance :o) For further information and responses, feel free to use my e-mail address, which you got above.

    bye :o)

  4. lanphuong says:

    Thank you, You can visit http://nghecon13.googlepages.com“>
    “The top blogs of the day” report

  5. Owen says:

    The fault is not with the anime or fans of the anime, it’s with the parents of the children who buried their playmate, who obviously were ignorant of their child’s ability (or lack of) to equate burying someone in sand with killing them. At that age, you’re no different from a parrot, really.

    If you can’t take a healthy interest in what your kid is doing at that age, you obviously fail as a parent. Where do Narutards come in the picture anyway?

  6. kame-chan says:

    lolkitsune: Yes, a bit. Not that much. At least they didn’t pull off some other stunt.

    The Animanachronism: Well, sometimes society just digs its head at the worst times possible but that’s going off topic.

    V3N@R!S: I understand that you can’t really blame the children for letting their imagination run wild but I believed that kids that age were able to know what not to do when playing. Or maybe I just expected too much of the children’s knowledge. As for the rest of your post, I don’t really have that authority to decide hehe ^^’

    Owen: Like I said to V3N@R!S, I thought the kids were able to know what they’re doing. In addition to what you’re saying, I also believe that kids tend to take habits more off of their friends, siblings, and media than their own parents, hence causing me to call them narutards. Though, as you pointed this out, the parents still have to watch over their children and make sure they know what they’re doing. Who was watching these kids anyway? I really want to know that.

    As I re-analyze my own post and the comments here, I noticed that narutards isn’t necessary in this post. I expected too much of the children’s knowledge and others were able to point it out (discretely). Anyway, I’ll take back what I said about narutards although it’s in the title. You are all free to flame me still though.

  7. Owen S says:

    I’m guessing the bare minimum went into taking care of those kids, but that’s the sad reality of modern childcare for you — parents aren’t that concerned anymore, I’m afraid. 😐

    In other news, it’s perfectly alright to slip up in a post, so no worries. I’ve been there. Just as long as you were aware of what you were saying. I mean, we all make mistakes from time to time.

Leave a Reply

