I’m not dead and my next gripe about corporate policy…

One thing I will admit about Code Geass: they have rather excellent combat system designs… Now, two things. One, I could probably not get the usability group to agree on me with this one. Second, there needs to be more female system operators and pilots in all armed forces...

whitehatazn-48.jpgHello World!\n again…

As you can tell, it’s been a really long time since I’ve blogged. It’s not like I don’t have any ideas to write about. It’s just that the usual free time I have to blog was taken up by my ever-increasing work load and helping with (and paying for some of) my sister’s sweet 16. Now that at least sis’ sweet 16 is done, I’ll start getting back to blogging. Although, I say this knowing that I’m going to be on work travel soon. Sigh, the work load of a entry level engineer…

It’s been awhile since I’ve been to the anime blogosphere and thus, I went to check out some of the sites/blogs I usually follow. Then I noticed something. As I was doing my web surfing during my lunch break at work, I came across a few sites got blocked by the company’s IT web filter. It turns out the company started a new “corporate computing sercurity initiative” and thus, more websites may be blocked along with the current restrictions. After checking some my favorite anime-related blogs and websites to try to catch up in the anime world, I found these websites to be blocked by company’s corporate servers:

Now, I do give a little bit leeway to corporate website blocking in my workplace. This is primarily because I work for a government contractor and there is always the concern for a classified data spill. Also, there are some websites that need to be blocked in the workplace for obvious reasons. http://www.animesuki.com has always been blocked with the reason of file sharing (the block message comes with a reasoning).

Yet… this is just really annoying. I do agree for prevention of data spills but the only means of viewing non-corporate websites is through the unclassified network. I don’t see how this new set of restrictions really help pevent this. Also, these sites we’re blocked with no defined reasons as to why. Which tells me someone in coporate IT decided to ban these sites (instead of the software filters) after monitoring my internet traffic (unless there’s someone else in the corporate system who’s viewing these sites which if there is and if that person is a single female between the ages of 18 – 26 in which that case… can i get your number?).

Don’t get me wrong. I like my job and I really do like my employer. It’s just things like these which really annoy me…

3 Responses to I’m not dead and my next gripe about corporate policy…

  1. IcyStorm says:

    Yeah, it sucks when certain sites are unnecessarily blocked… but what can you do? You know, unless you’re good friends with the people in the IT department. Or you’re in the IT department.

  2. Josh says:

    What, they’ve blocked my site? That sucks.

    You don’t have to check back too often though, just once every two weeks and you won’t miss anything.

  3. My fellow on Orkut shared this link and I’m not dissapointed that I came to your blog.

Leave a Reply

