From breast-fed to walking – 1 Year Blog Anniversary

And what better way to start celebrating this blog’s bday than with a picture of the lady that gained this blog’s popularity and another hip hop caption…

“She got her own thing
That’s why I love her
Miss independent
Won’t you come
And spend a little time
She got her own thing
That’s why I love her
Miss independent
Ooh
The way you shine
Miss independent”

whitehatazn-48.jpg

I’m quite happy to announce that the Anime Academy blog is now one year old. Woot! *goes carmeldansen*

Seriously. I’m really happy with this milestone. It was only a year a go where I entered the bloggosphere as a young recent college graduate with some opinions on the anime world. I thought I would’ve gotten tired of it after a few months. Never did I expect to gain my bro (chigaimasu) and sis (kame-chan) as writers. Never did I expect we’d be around this long. Never did I expect to be writing this post.

Just like every other blog bday post, I get to spout out some blog stats. The stat I’m most impressed about is the comment-post ratio. Out of the 64 published posts, there are 203 comments which lead to about three comments per each post. I find this impressive since this shows that we make discussion-ready posts; something I always wanted from the blog. And in that, I feel like we’ve gained some respect among the anime blogger community.

Among the various things I learned from the anime blogger community, one thing has always intrigued me: I can never predict if a post will generate the kind of discussion I expect. This seems to happen more with quick posts surpassing discussion expectations (i.e. Kyonko). Another thing that has impressed me is that we can write just about anything and the community is deep enough to spark some kind of discussion (i.e. tsundere FSMs). It is the prospect of discussion (and not necessarily page views) which always seems to re-motivate me to blog.

So what’s next? Well I’m not sure. I think the site needs an overhaul. Maybe soon I’ll move this blog off of wordpress.com and get a domain. My concern is finding the time providing updated content. I’m currently in a promotion year at work (from entry-level to regular professional engineer). Also, I may be moving within this upcoming year as well. Bro is graduating this year from college and is currently looking for job or a graduate research fellowship. And well sis, does whatever a junior in high school does including her SATs and college search.

But figuring that out can wait. Today, is for celebrating this milestone. *goes carmeldansen again* *thud* *realizes he stubbed his toe on the desk*

7 Responses to From breast-fed to walking – 1 Year Blog Anniversary

  1. Kairu Ishimaru says:

    Happy birfday then. 😀

  2. Happy anniversary, and good luck getting promoted . . .

  3. Owen S says:

    Happy first anniversary!

  4. TheBigN says:

    Happy first anniversary! It’s strange how things can happen beyond what we expect them to. Hopefully your second year at this is great as well. :3

  5. Kairu Ishimaru says:

    .. and what is Neyo’s ‘Miss Independent’ lyrics doing there?

  6. Happy Birthday to you. Just started to get into anime. Enjoyed the site and I’ll be back.

  7. 0rion says:

    Congratulations on making it through a whole year of blogging and still going strong. =D

Leave a Reply

