Umineko no Naku Koro ni = Mafia?

To me, it’s a party game, but in anime form.

After I finished watching episode 2 of Umineko no Naku Koro ni, the first thing that popped in my head was the party game Mafia. I’m not going to bother explaining the episode since there are so many blogs that summarize different types of anime so I’ll just go straight to my comparison.

So, if you’re reading this now, I hope you watched the second episode so I won’t be “exactly” spoiling it. Also, I’ll add that I have not played the game so this is all based off my view from the anime. Well, to me, Umineko is probably the perfect anime to compare Mafia to. First of all, it’s a murder mystery (I know that isn’t saying much). Second of all, it has the abundant amount of members even play a normal game of it. Thing is, when the “Mafia” kill someone (or a group of people) at night, they really kill that person (or people). I can’t compare their counterpart, Higurashi no Naku Koro ni, to Mafia because in Higurashi, the “Mafia” is aimed to only one person while in Umineko, the “Mafia” is aimed to the entire Ushiromiya family. Oh, almost forgot to add that the “Townspeople” in Mafia are allegedly on an island (so they can boot people off when they vote) like how the Ushiromiya family is on their own island.

Since I explained how I’m able to get Mafia out of Umineko, I bet you’re wondering who plays what part. Let’s see, there’s definitely a “Mafia” type person or group within the premises of Umineko. There is also your “Doctor”, who is Dr. Nanjo, and your “Detective”, who I believe should be Battler. Therefore, the rest of the family are the “Townspeople”. At the end of the second episode, the “Mafia” made their move and killed 6 “Townspeople” out of the 18 that were originally on the island. Of course, the “Doctor” failed to save anyone and the only thing the “Detective” can do is to get information on who might be the murderer(s). I’ll just have to sit back and watch how this game of Mafia plays out. I have a feeling that there’s going to be multiple games of Mafia since Umineko is done by the same producers who made Higurashi.

2 Responses to Umineko no Naku Koro ni = Mafia?

  1. Author says:

    Look who’s alive after 7 month coma. You can put Haruka Suzumiya to shame.

  2. kame-chan says:

    It’s not like the blog was a victim of a hit-and-run incident, so I think Haruka Suzumiya can keep her dignity.

Leave a Reply

